Arranged

I’ve just been laying here thinking about Romans 9. It’s a tough text. In talking about God’s election, Paul says to those who question how God could be sovereign and punish those he has not chosen to save:

But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, “Why have you made me like this?” Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use? (Romans 9:20, 21 ESV)

Heavy.

To bring it back to marriage, this thought occurred to me while I was digesting the above text: Jesus’ didn’t choose his bride (the Church), his Father did. Maybe I’m way off, theologically speaking, but I don’t think I am. (I’ll leave the “clay/potter discussion for another day.)

My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. (John 10:29 ESV)

Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world. (John 17:24 ESV)

So…are you single, desiring both a spouse and to be like Christ? Then let your Father choose.

What does that mean? Haha, I’m not sure, but we gotta start somewhere and think that somewhere is letting go of the anxiety that so often accompanies singleness for many Christians. If you are leaving this decision to your Father, why would you be anxious about it? Jesus wasn’t.

What did he do instead of worrying? He prayed for his bride. Constantly. He loved her completely and gave his life for her before she even knew who he was. Oh, and guess what? Jesus hasn’t had his wedding day yet either, so, yeah, he totally gets where you’re coming from.

Get excited about that Revelation 19:6-8 wedding, and your wedding here, whether it happens or not, will seem like small potatoes by comparison. Get genuinely excited about the only spouse you’re promised and whether or not you find one here really won’t matter all that much.

I know, it’s easy for me to say…yeah, well, it doesn’t mean it’s not true.

[Feel free to correct my 2:30 AM theology if it’s horribly wrong – or just a tad off for that matter.]

Leave a Reply

